Paying Homage

Winding around Hwy 61,

sunshiney,

refreshing 32 degree winter morning,

scoping for eagles  in trees,

illegally texting my son a question

about why he is sad,

instanteously running out of gas,

unable to get cell phone reception.

Hitch hiking along this scenic highway,

the first car drives by,

the second stops.

She says I look like a million bucks

and

can’t understand why the first car

didn’t stop.

I was returning from

paying a seatbelt ticket

$110 dollars

didn’t fight it,

we exchange ticket stories for the duration

of the drive back to town.

Paying the fine late,

texting illegally,

running out of gas,

not really leverging the power of the

Universe.

Good samaritan,

classy grey haired energetic baby boomer woman shining in gold like the sun,

you pick me up,

tell me twice

I look like a million bucks.

That is an inside job.

My insides feel like I radiate

a million bucks just from

sheer,

pure,

innocent joy

like the beautiful snow covered oaks,

ash, maples, and pines,

cathedral-like and magestic

in their virginity

along the side of the road.

Well,

it is time to pay homage

to the gifts all around me,

and I know the answer

before I even ask the question.

About Susan

I am a gutsy, single mom of four in southeastern MN on the great Mississippi River. I love to create a life of passion, I am an eternal optimist and a freak for wellness, local foods movement, all sorts of musical genres, nature, bikes, dancing, writing, art, and funny people .
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Paying Homage

  1. Photodiction says:

    This left me uplifted – and feeling a joy that comes from remembering when someone gave me a lift in spirit. Great metaphor.

Leave a Reply

