Body Electric Zumba

Fifty or so sweaty women

simultaneously

shaking  booties.

What a gift,

what a gift,

what a gift,

to unabashedly

follow the serene instructor’s

busting out moves

in a sequential, tornadic frenzy.

Latin,

African,

and

Middle Eastern beats

toning,

toning,

toning,

every muscle.

Women of all sizes,

shapes and ages,

beautiful

sweaty

women

dancing.

Caution gets

thrown to the wind,

no intimidation,

no self-consciousness,

no judgement,

only

only

only

safe and secure

self love

and

celebration of our

sensual,

powerful

bodies

that feel the ancient rhythms

and glisten

with

joy,

freedom,

passion,

and

love.

Thank you Zumba class.

We truly are all one

hot tamale.

About Susan

I am a gutsy, single mom of four in southeastern MN on the great Mississippi River. I love to create a life of passion, I am an eternal optimist and a freak for wellness, local foods movement, all sorts of musical genres, nature, bikes, dancing, writing, art, and funny people .
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Body Electric Zumba

  1. Poets United says:

    I can feel the beat and the power – and I can see the women joyously dancing.
    Terrific poem. Welcome to Poets United!

  2. Poets United says:

    Ah Suzan I can see Sherry has been here already!! Well I thought I would just drop you a note and let you know that I have put this up as our poem of the week. Please let me know if you have any objections. I am in heavy work out mode with a wedding coming up and me and the misses are at the gym nearly every day and witness a lot of what you have written. Although I know this may sound sad but I can’t wait for the New Years Resolution folks to finally give up and crawl back to their couches so I can have more time for myself…lol I know its mean but Ive never liked the January work out sessions they are so dang crowded. My Fiance would smack me for saying that and she would truly embrace your poem. I hope others like it too! Thanks for sharing.

    ~ Robb

    • siouxzsfree says:

      Hi Robb, your response made me laugh…alot!
      I am honored to be a poem of the week pick.
      Zumba really trips my trigger these days
      and wipes away the stress of the day.
      And writing poetry does the same for me!!!

      S

  3. Photodiction says:

    I also like how you’ve caught the rhythm of the class and painted such a vivid picture of it. Though I couldn’t imagine a “serene instructor” with so much action going on 🙂

Leave a comment